Wednesday, November 16, 2005

AAG Grants and Awards Reminder

This is from the AAG and was originally sent to our Specialty Group President:

As you know, each year, the AAG offers numerous grants and awards to geographers. The list that follows serves to remind you and your colleagues about the opportunities available for recognition or grant support. Unless otherwise noted, all deadlines are December 31, 2005. Please consult full descriptions posted on the AAG website at

Meredith F. Burrill Award

To stimulate and reward talented individuals and groups who have completed work of exceptional

merit and quality that lies at or near the intersection of basic research and practical applications or local, national, or international policy implications.

George and Viola Hoffman Award

To support student research toward a master's thesis or doctoral dissertation on a geographical subject in Eastern Europe.

Glenda Laws Award

To recognize outstanding contributions to geographic research on social issues.

Anne U. White Fund

To support field research conducted by a member of the AAG jointly with her or his spouse, regardless of any formal training in geography.

AAG Research Grants for 2006

To support direct expenses of research or fieldwork that address questions of major import to the discipline (excluding master's or doctoral dissertation research).

AAG Dissertation Research Grants for 2006

To support direct expenses of master's or doctoral dissertation research to eligible individuals.

AAG International Geographic Information Fund

To support full-time students who are currently registered in an undergraduate or graduate degree program within the United States, and who are working in any area of spatial analysis or geographic information science or systems, through Student Travel Grants, Graduate Research Awards, and Student Paper Awards.

AAG Meridian Book Award for the Outstanding Scholarly Work in Geography 2005

To recognize geographer authors or co-authors who have published a book in calendar year 2005 that makes an unusually important contribution to advancing the science and art of geography.

AAG Globe Book Award for Public Understanding of Geography 2005

To recognize geographer authors or co-authors who have published a book in calendar year 2005 that conveys most powerfully the nature and importance of geography to the nonacademic world.

AAG John Brinckerhoff Jackson Prize for 2005

To encourage and reward American geographers who write books about the United States that convey the insights of professional geography in language that is interesting and attractive to a lay audience.

Anderson Medal

To recognize distinguished contributions to the profession of geography in one or more areas of industry, government, literature, education, research, service to the profession, or public service.

NOTE: Deadline is December 1, 2005. or

Dr. Patricia Solis
Director of Research and Outreach
Association of American Geographers
1710 Sixteenth Street NW
Washington, DC 20009-3198
Telephone 202-234-1450 ext. 32
Direct Line 202-558-7491
Fax 202-234-2744